The Complete Adwords Glossary You Need to Know

Whether you are running Google Ad and if you are serious about upgrading your skills here’s the complete Adwords Glossary You need to Know.

If you are looking to learn and understand PPC or trying to train yourself then this guide should be of great help.

I spend weeks compiling them for You.

A

Ad Copy- The text copy of the Ad and hence known as Ad Copy, here’s where you write the actual ad

Ad Group- One or more ads written with a group of keywords, placements and ad type.

Ad auction – It’s a process of Google’s algorithm to where your ad appears when a search happens and decided where to show your ad.

Ad Scheduling – If you are a business operates on specific timing then Ad scheduling is helpful to run your ads on that time, if you operate 24/7 then leave it default.

Ad Extensions- A great way to show more information like your Address, phone number etc.

Extensions are free of charge and it aims to provide more information about the products,service and other business information.

-App Extension- If your add is on Application installs then App extension would be a great tool.

App Extensions

-Call Extension-Displays your phone number for your customer to reach your business.

-Location Extension- Displays your physical location.

Location-Extensions

-Sitelink Extension- It helps your visitors to land on a specific page where you want them to visit.

-Callout Extension- A non-clickable extension shows your USP and more information which you want to highlight.

Callout-extentions

Ad Position- The order in which your ad appears, being 1 on the top of the search results.

It is calculated on Ad Rank factor and it can keep fluctuating depends on the Ad Rank.

Ad Rank- A ranking factor that determines where your ads displayed based on keywords, bid amount, landing page relevance and Quality Score.

Adsense- An inventory of Google’s network where you can earn money for showing targeted ads on their publisher network.

Ad Rotation- If you have more ads, Ad rotation helps you decide and analyze which ads work better and show that ad to your visitors. It has three settings

-Optimize for clicks-Optimize and show ads which gets the most clicks this also helps you to optimize your bidding strategy and budget.

-Optimize for Conversions – It depends on your goals if an ad is performing well and gets conversion then select this option.

-Rotate Evenly- With this option you are informing Google to rotate the ads for 90 days.

-Rotate Indefinitely- This option allows you to rotate the ads for an indefinite period even if its non-performing.

Actual CPC- Actual amount you are paying for every click on your ad, and it always within your Max CPC limit.

Average CPC- Average amount paid for a click for an ad, Its calculated by the [total #cost/#clicks]

Ad Preview and Diagnosis- A tool by Google within Adwords for business owners to preview their ads and troubleshoot.

Ad Preview and Diagnosis Tool

Audience Manager- It helps you to create and link your audience source for remarketing purpose,

It also gives you insights of your audience and you can create a list. Websites visitors, App users, YouTube Users are some of the lists you can create,

Yet, Adwords gives you the flexibility to create your own audience with a custom combination as well.

Account Access- Unless you are running an agency or many ad accounts this is where you can link all your ad accounts.

B

Billing and Payments- This is the place where you pay for your Ad cost, Adwords provide you both Automatic and Manual payment, You can control your ad spend here.

Bid Strategies- Based on you your Goals you can adjust your bid strategy,

Ask yourself what do you want to achieve,

-If you want to spread your brand-you choose to maximize clicks else a different bid strategy.

– You always have the flexibility to select one of the below Bid Strategy.

-Target CPA- Adjust your bid for acquiring a customer and pay for Cost per Acquisition.

-Target ROAS- Bids on the return on ad spend optimizing your campaign for conversion,

Used for ecommerce industry as we need to key in the conversion value. Its used to increase value within the Target CPA.

-Maximize Clicks- This is suitable if you want to get most clicks for your brand or services.

-Target outrank Share-This bid strategy helps you to bid on competitor keyword where the amount is spent to show your ad on the top. (not recommended unless you have enough data and deeper pockets)

-Enhanced CPC-This strategy helps to achieve conversion, with this strategy you are informing Google to increase your bid to achieve conversion.

Its used to increase the manual bid to maximize conversions. Some of the other recommended bidding strategies are

C

Cost per Impression- Increase views for your video ads or interactions.

vCPM- viewable Cost per Thousand impression- Brand Awareness.

Cost per acquisition- Take action on your website(conversion).

Cost per View- Increase brand awareness through video

Cost Per Click- Amount you are willing to pay per click.

for example, if you spend $500 budget and you get 100 clicks then the CPC would be (500/100)=$5/click.

Cost Per Aquisition- Amount took to get a conversion,

let’s say you are willing to pay $50 per conversion google will try to help you achieve that based on their metrics.

Clicks- When someone clicking on your Ad going to your website or landing page is counted as clicks.

Click through Rate(CTR)– (Number of Clicks/ Number of Impressions)*100, lets suppose you had 2000 impressions and 100 clicks =(100/2000)*100= 5% is your CTR.

Conversions- When someone completing the desired action on your websites, Such as filling up a form or a sale or a download considered as conversion. A call is also counted as conversions.

Campaign- This is the second level after Account level, It has many ad groups this is where you specify location, Bid scheduling, Budget, Networks and more.

Each campaign contains more than one or more ad group. Budget managed at the Campaign level setting.

Call To Action(CTA) – The desired action that you want your customer to take.

Change History- History or Log actions you have done on your AdWords account.

D

Display Url-It tells your customer where they will be landing once they click the ad, (the root domain should match with the display URL)

Daily Budget- Its the amount you are willing to pay per day. It’s also the amount set per campaign each day. Let’s suppose If you set a budget of $1000/day google will try to show ads on within the budget.

Dynamic Keyword Insertion-This will enable Google to replace and insert the keyword automatically onto your Headline, Description.

Display Ad-Image Ads or animated ads for Display network ads, also called as Banner Ads.

Delivery Method-Your informing how soon you want to show your ads. there are two types of Delivery method.

Standard Method- Tries to show your ad within the budget and showing for the whole day.

Accelerated Methods-Show the ad more often until you reach your daily budget once reached the ad will stop showing. an example of an accelerated method is an event where they want to reach more people fast.

G

Google Distribution Network(GDN)-Google partner network where your ads as shown. if you come across any ads by google that what is GDN. Google has partnered with >2million partner website and App network.

Google Distribution network-Ad

Google Search Network(GSN)- The actual Google SERP and Search Partner network.

Google SERP

Google My Business- Allows you to list your business and verify it that you can use on your location extensions.

I

Impression-Number of times Your Ad is showing in search results counted as impressions.

Invalid Clicks-

Any clicks that are unintentional, clicks from bot, double clicks, Auto software generated clicks or any clicks from the business owner of the site considered as Invalid clicks.

K

Keywords-It is the words typed or searched, it defines a product or a service.

Keyword Planner- A Google tool to find out Monthly search volumes, keyword ideas, and traffic planning. It also helps you reach people who are interested in your products or service.

Keyword planner tool

L

Landing page-Its a Webpage where your customer will land after clicking the URL. A good an relevant landing page will increase your quality score and also increase your Ad Rank.

Linked Account-Connecting many Google services like Google Analytics, Google Play, YouTube, and other services to track and measure where the traffic is coming from which helps you create a Custom combination of Audience.

M

Max CPC- Maximum amount you are willing to pay for a click on your ad whatever clicks google can get within your Max CPC limit.

Manual Payment-Adding reserve funds to your Google Ad account for Ad Spend.

Maximize conversions-Its a Bid strategy allowing Google to spend your budget to get maximize conversion.

Match types-Combination of Keywords which helps your control which search term is showing your ad.

Broad Match-This is a keyword with a broad variation which include misspelling, synonyms, related searched and other relevant keyword variations.

Special Symbol Example KeywordExample Searches
nonewomen’s hatbuy ladies hat

Broad Match Modifiers- adding a “+” symbol before the keyword is broad match modifier which conducts the modified terms in any order( but no synonyms).

Special SymbolExample KeywordExample Searches
+keyword+women’s+hatswoman’s hat

Phrase match-adding double quote before an after the keyword is Phrase match. phrase match shows the close variation of the term or the phrase itself.

Special SymbolExample KeywordExample Searches
“keyword”“women’s hat”buy women’s hat

Exact match-adding [keyword] is the shortcode for an exact match it shows exactly the same word and close variation.

Special SymbolExample KeywordExample Searches
[keyword][women’s hat]women’s hat

Negative Match- adding”-keyword,” says its a negative match are searches where you dont want your ad to show up. they are search terms without the term.

Special SymbolExample KeywordExample Searches
-keyword-baseballbaseball hats

O

Organic Search- Relevant search results when entering a word without an ad on the left,

You can achieve organic search with SEO. Organic search results are not paid but need efforts to rank.

P

Paid Search-Ads that are showing up when searching for words or term or keyword. paid results rank faster on Google. following the best practices as mentioned by Google.

Placement Targeting-Ad shown on relevant website or Apps on Google Partner Network.

Pay Per Click(PPC)-Amount you will be paying when a click happen on your URL or website.

Product Listing Ads(PLA)- Designed for ecommerce business owners to showcase their product on Google Search network.

Q

Quality Score-Rated on a score from 1-10 with 1 being the poor and 10 being good, its rated based on the

(Click through Rate+Ad Relevancy+Quality of the Landing page)

An Ad with Good quality score will reduce cost and increase ad rank. which means ad shown frequently and lower spending.

R

Remarketing- Showing ads to people who had interacted with your business but not yet your customer.

S

Search Engine Marketing(SEM)-Achieving goals through paid advertisement on search engine result page.

Search Engine Result Page(SERP)– List of web pages when you search for a keyword, term or a phrase.

Search Term report- Report that shows which words or term had triggered your ad.

Shared Budget- Budget fixed at campaign level so when you have many campaigns each campaign gets an allocated budget.

Shopping ads- Ads Created with Google Merchant Center it is now Known as Google Shopping.

Google Merchant Center

Anything to Add

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Do you think I miss something or want to add more on the list leave a comment below.

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